Friday, August 29, 2014

Drive in

Check out the new portable movie screen. #outdoormovies #ranchdrivein #ismellpopcorn

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Friday, August 22, 2014

Guarding

Nella with her game face on. The stare that makes coyotes and solicitors shiver in their boots... #anatolianshepherds #livestockguardiandogs #dogdaysofsummer


Thursday, August 21, 2014

Dino egg

A delicious homegrown dinosaur egg plum, aka a dapple dandy pluot. #backyardorchard #freshfruit #farmjunkfood

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Herded

I was about to walk out to the barnyard to do chores and look what's quietly waiting for me right outside the door. Guess I left the gate open and Jones went out to the pasture and fetched me all the sheep. #bordercollies #herding #stcroixsheep #ranchlife

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Milker

Pixie practicing for her turn on the milking stand. I think she has a little time. #mininubian #dairygoats #runtsrule

Monday, August 18, 2014

Lap dog

It's hard to get any fencing work done with this guy in my lap all day. Say cheese! #Anatolianshepherds #raisingaruckus #ranchlife

Sunday, August 17, 2014

Easter eggs

Mike's selective breeding and hatching of chickens has given us a full spectrum of colors. These hens go from full Ameraucana to 3/4 (light olive) to 50/50 (olive) to 1/4 (dark olive) to full black copper maran. #farmgenetics #backyardchickens

Thursday, August 14, 2014

Picnic table

Can you build a new picnic table so our guests don't have to eat off their laps? #dineosaur #tooltime #arrrharrharrgh

Field Trip

Everyone got a field trip while we dragged the nursery. #mininubian #nigeriandwarf #dairygoats


Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Acorns

Despite the drought, our blue oak acorn crop is doing well and will hopefully get the local wildlife through the summer. #nature

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Monday, August 11, 2014

Moonset

The Super Moonset this morning. I tried to get a panorama as the sun rose on one horizon and the moon set on the other but the camera wouldn't cooperate so i changed gears and caught this shot just as it went over the neighbors hill. #supermoon #ranchlife


Sunday, August 10, 2014

Jail Break

We opened up the nursery this morning so everyone could get out to play and snack on some low hanging oak branches. Even the sheep were getting in on it. #mininubian #nigeriandwarf #stcroixsheep #kiddingseason #ranchlife

Saturday, August 9, 2014

Empty Nest

Our first kid left the nest yesterday. Major is enjoying life as a companion wether in his new home. He even has real grass! ‪#‎nigeriandwarf‬‪#‎goatlove‬


Friday, August 8, 2014

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Herding

Jones moving the sheep down to the lower pasture for me. He's getting good! #bordercollies #herding #stcroixsheep #livevicariously

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Eggs everywhere

I guess this spring's hatch has started laying... We are finding eggs everywhere. #backyardchickens #ranchlife

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Harley

Harley enjoys some of the neighbor's peach drops. Still no piglets from our 2 gilts so he may be off to the sausage factory if the girls come into heat one more time. #mangalitsa #gourmetpork

Monday, August 4, 2014

Not Quite Norman Rockwell

I always find it a little surprising; the bond our goats form.  The little family units lounge, nap, frolic and eat together.  Last night, I caught this nice scene of  Miss Kay and her two girls--S'mores and Gnocchi--sharing a bit of hay for their evening meal.

Saturday, August 2, 2014

A day on the farm

Spent a little time walking around the ranch with the new Nikon Coolpix S9700 we picked up yesterday.