Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Last kid of the year

Sarah just gave birth to our last 2014 kid, and what a beautiful little boy he is! He'll make someone a great herd buck or wether. #mininubian #dairygoats #youvegottobekidding #anotherboy

Monday, December 29, 2014

Casualty

Lost one of our big pines in the wind the other night. Another victim of the drought.


Saturday, December 27, 2014

Friday, December 26, 2014

Freeze

Got our first hard freeze of the season last night. 27 isn't so bad when it comes with a high of 61. #chillhours #stonefruitsandapplesarelovinit #ranchlife

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Kids!

Pip had her kids this morning! E20,E21,E22. 3 boys, ugh but she's polled so maybe we'll have a polled wether or two. #youvegottobekidding #comeonman

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Kids on the way

Pip and Sarah are both about ready to pop. According to the vet, we should be having as many as 5 new kids in the next week or two. #dairygoats #youvegottobekidding

Friday, December 12, 2014

Rain day

Pixie would be fine with it raining like this every day. #freeloader #mininubian #breakfastinbed

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Storm coming

We got our little tarp hay shed put up just in time for today's storm of the decade. Hopefully it will hold up. #herecomestherain

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Winnebago

Another craigslist special! A ride Walter White and Cousin Eddie would be proud of. #winnebago

Tuesday, December 9, 2014

Sunday, December 7, 2014

Apple Harvest


These baskets each weigh almost a bushel (48lbs).  I picked these and 6 more for our {hard} apple cider project.

Friday, December 5, 2014

Thunder

Experiencing our first real live thunderstorm since we moved to the central coast. Every animal on this ranch is freaking out. #checktherainguage #goinggreen

Monday, December 1, 2014

Nap Time

Our three "little" pigs lined up and sleeping through the morning rain showers. #mangalitsa #kobepork


Sunday, November 30, 2014

Saturday, November 29, 2014

Clarice

Clarice is in the nursery recovering from a little infection in her udder. She thinks the new camo will hide her at treatment time. #nigeriandwarf #ranchlife

Monday, November 24, 2014

Farewell

We laid little Dharma to rest this morning under an oak tree at the top of the hill that catches the first light of day. The twins and Cotty have been standing watch ever since. A nice farewell. :) #ranchlife

Freeze is on the way

33 degrees in Bradley this morning. Say goodbye to those late season tomatoes. Time to wrap the stock tank faucets. — at Vicarious Ranch.

Sunday, November 23, 2014

Shed

Finished up the new 8x10 rodent resistant storage shed yesterday. It is staying in the corner of the pole barn for now. We haven't decided if it will keep the squirrels out of the alfalfa or the pack rats off the Harley. #keepingnatureatbay #ranchlife

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Cotty is 2!

Happy birthday Cotton! The hardest working rescue livestock guardian dog evah. 


Sunday, November 16, 2014

Home Sweet (smelling) Home

Can you believe we were on Broadway last night taking in a show? Thanks so much to our friend Steve for keeping an eye on things for us! He's quite the farmer.  :) #backtoreality #welcomehome

Saturday, November 15, 2014

Dawn

Jones is ready to pounce. #dawn #bordercollies #stcroixsheep #goinggreen

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Tbt

Tbt Pixie and Willie from this summer one day old. #mininubian #dairygoats #tbt

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

White wash

The horse fence is getting a much-needed paint job this week. #ranchlife

Saturday, November 8, 2014

Green acres

That little day of rain we had a week or so ago has broken the dormancy around here quite nicely. #nature #GreatPyrenees #therainyseason

Thursday, November 6, 2014

Social media, farm style.

Our last remaining turkey, Yo Gobble Gobble, has been having a heated discussion with his reflection in the truck bumper all afternoon. #broadbreastedbronze #farmsocialmedia

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Tiny

One of the hens really mailed it in this morning. #backyardchickens #isthereahummingbirdinthehouse

Sunday, November 2, 2014

Freeze

Don't tell Harley, but we are one step closer to getting his replacement. 10 months with no piglets is way too long for something that eats that much.

Saturday, November 1, 2014

Snack Time

Pixie grabs a snack from the alfalfa stockpile. She was very depressed with the other goats so now has run of the barnyard and is back to her old self. #mininubian #ranchlife


Friday, October 31, 2014

Rain!

Though we had our doubts, we did a little preparation for the forecasted downpours by making an extra shelter for the girls. Cotty doesn't seem to care but the goats are happy for it. #firstraininmonths #whatisthiswetstuff

Thursday, October 30, 2014

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Monday, October 27, 2014

Fall harvest

We usually harvest our chickens as they are needed.   As a result of our spring hatching,  we ended up with far too many roosters.   Today,  we loaded them up and took them to the local usda plant to process.   They will dress them and flash freeze in about a quarter of the time it would have taken us. #farmtofork #homegrown

Friday, October 24, 2014

Got water?

There will soon be water at the luxury tent! 150 feet dug in an afternoon or two. We're dropping a power conduit in the hole too just in case. #diy #farmtoys

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Morning traffic

Being almost exactly halfway between Los Angeles and San Francisco, we get our share of morning rush hour traffic jams. #lifeintheslowlane


Monday, October 20, 2014

Foundation

The foundation for the new barn/guest cabin is in. Not a bad view! #diy #hardlabor

Sunday, October 19, 2014

Geared Up

Looks like Ruckus is ready for some football this morning. Nella is obviously proud of her brilliant son... #anatolianshepherds #noconcussionshere

Friday, October 17, 2014

Thursday, October 16, 2014

School is in

Jinx had her first official herding class today with Laurie of Deerwood Kelpies and she said that this pup is pretty amazing! She said that Jones will be worth his weight in gold on the ranch and will do everything you ever need him to do but that little Jinx is a trial dog.

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

New project

We got a call last night that Christy's new pantry barn is complete and ready to deliver so building a level foundation for it went to the top of the to-do list. Very impressed with the new digger so far in this rock hard dirt. #morestorage #ranchlife

Monday, October 13, 2014

Cowboy

Little Cowboy got his tattoos and went home yesterday. Best of luck to him and his new herd!


Sunday, October 12, 2014

Saturday, October 11, 2014

Another boy

This JUST happened. Mike heard a ewe bellowing at about 6am and as soon as it was light enough he went out and found three big white dogs surrounding her and her new bundle of joy. Amazing how kind these dogs are if you are part of the family. #stcroixsheep #itsaboy #lambing #anatolianshepherds 


Friday, October 10, 2014

Digger

The week of great deals continues. Mike found this "like new" pull behind backhoe on craigslist for roughly half price! Now we can start laying water and power lines, dig ponds and tree holes, rip out stumps and get some sprinklers in the circle so we can lay sod. Finally, some real grass in this place. #backsaver #farmtoys


Thursday, October 9, 2014

Guesthouse

Welcome to our next project! This is the "before" picture of our new guesthouse. It will be completely gutted and redone inside with a composting toilet and tankless water heater. They wanted $200 but we got them down to $175 cash. ;) #classingupthefarm  #nomortgage

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Surprise!

How's this for a surprise! We figured the ewes would be just coming into season but when we went out for morning chores today, this was running around on the hillside. #stcroixsheep #lambs


Monday, October 6, 2014

Superfood

Pomegranates are about the only thing we have left in the orchard. #superfood #backyardorchard #freshfruit

Saturday, October 4, 2014

Migration

It's that time of year again...  The great tarantula migration. Who wants to come tent camp? #spiderlove #nature

Sunrise

Too bad no one spent last night Clamping in the luxury tent. This is what you'd have opened your eyes to this morning. #ranchlife #sunrise

Friday, October 3, 2014

Roadside attractions

You may have seen this if you drove by our lower ranch this weekend. The sheep and dogs spent the day down below in the pasture waving at tourists. #stcroixsheep #Anatolianshepherds #roadsideattractions

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

In stitches

Well that didn't take long... Jinx's first trip to the vet to get her microchip and rattlesnake vaccine was hurried a few days so she could get a few staples in her shoulder. She was watching Jones work the sheep and built up such a fervor that she plowed right into the end of a hog panel. Doc says no serious muscle damage so we just closed the hole and put her on antibiotics. This one's stock focus is off the charts. #bordercollies #herding #vetbills